Memoryhouse Ft. Humans of UChicago No. 14

_DSC1486

I came here from the UK to teach French. I teach two sections of French 103.
What was your first memory after arriving in the US?
My first impression when I landed in Chicago was not that it was big because I’ve lived in big towns, but it’s fast. The streets are bigger and you actually have to go somewhere to find something. In European towns you can be in one place and you’ll have everything. So my first impression was that it’s big and expensive. And the people were different, too—someone stopped me to compilment my clothing, and I thought, ‘what are you doing?’ I thought I was getting mugged [laughs]. It’s a whole new way of thinking and behaving. 
Leave a Reply

