2nd Story Shape-Shifter

2nd Story is a collective of story-tellers that hosts story-telling events throughout the city, as well as at their home base, Theater on the Lake. In Shape-Shifter, Alex Bonner tells the story of his wanderings in Chicago bars, hiding behind various fictional personas, even dressing the part in his attempts to disguise his true self. After a conversation with a stranger on a train, everything changes.

“That night I told my girlfriend that I wasn’t in love with her, and that I was sorry but it was the truth. I stopped shape-shifting, took off my disguises, and hid them. I moved back to the Northwest side where I still live as myself and no one else.”

Click here to listen to the full story, and make sure to peruse the 2nd Story website for countless other stories.

Leave a Reply

